Access Maker

With the project Access Maker, Un-Label initiates a qualification process for more inclusion and diversity within the cultural institutions of the performing arts. As “Access Makers”, persons with and without disabilities involved in culture and the arts work together to develop practical recommendations for cultural institutions and provide needs-oriented advice, in this way facilitating barrier-free designs for future cultural offerings and helping cultural institutions structure themselves more inclusively.

Logo Access Maker

Culture must be seen and designed barrier-free and learn from the perspective of people with disabilities in order to create a new image of a diverse society.

Project term: April 2021 bis Februar 2024

Unfortunately, people with disabilities are still marginalized in mainstream cultural life. But it is exactly there that stigmatization must be eliminated and forms of diverse normality created. The political mandate for culture is not only a duty, but also offers an opportunity to stimulate diversity reflection, to enable encounters and to act as a model for other areas of society.

Cultural institutions usually do not lack the interest, but rather the competencies to recognize and treat people with disabilities as equal cultural creators and audience. After all, the decision-making bodies in the performing arts are almost exclusively composed of people without disabilities. This is where we come in with Access Maker to support cultural institutions in a practical and individual way according to their needs to make their offers barrier-free and to open up inclusivity. We offer three parallel modules:

 

  • In Module 1 three theater houses – Theater Dortmund, Schauspielhaus Düsseldorf and Comedia Theater Köln – will be trained and mentored for three years in their inclusive opening campaigns and development processes with cultural workers with and without disabilities in inclusive tandem teams.
  • In Module 2, the Creative Labs, we develop innovative, barrier-free recommendations for cultural institutions. Selected experts from the inclusive cultural sector and interested parties with and without disabilities present successful practical examples and develop them further. Interested parties can obtain the results, practical guides and information films for free.
  • In Module 3 we expand our national and international network of cultural workers and experts who are able to implement concepts of barrier-free, innovative cultural offerings and thus innovatively influence future inclusive work in the cultural scene. Module 3 will also include a symposium in cooperation with Asphalt Festival and kubia in 2022 in Düsseldorf to facilitate exchange between actors and the sharing of best practices.

With Access Maker, we enable inclusive access to be understood and used as an added value for the entire audience and the entire structure of a cultural institution. In the long run, we want to contribute to the continuation of barrier-free offers as well as a comprehensive, diversity-oriented organizational development in order to structurally and sustainably change the cultural landscape in an inclusive way.

Video

Sponsors

Logo The Power of Arts

Access Maker

Mit dem Projekt Access Maker stößt Un-Label einen Qualifizierungsprozess für mehr Inklusion und Diversität in Kulturinstitutionen der darstellenden Künste an. Kulturschaffende mit und ohne Behinderung erarbeiten als „Access Maker“ gemeinsam praxisbezogene Handlungsempfehlungen für Kulturbetriebe und geben bedarfsorientiert Rat, damit Kulturangebote zukünftig hindernisfrei gestaltet werden und sich Kulturinstitutionen inklusiv öffnen können.

Logo Access Maker

Kultur muss barrierefrei gesehen und gestaltet werden und von der Perspektive der Menschen mit Behinderung lernen, um ein neues Bild einer diversitären Gesellschaft zu schaffen.

Projektlaufzeit: April 2021 bis Februar 2024

Menschen mit Behinderung sind in der Kultur leider bisher immer noch eine Randerscheinung. Dabei müssten gerade hier Stigmatisierungen beseitigt und Formen diversitärer Normalität geschaffen werden. Der politische Auftrag an die Kultur ist nicht nur eine Pflicht, sondern birgt auch die Chance, Vielfaltsreflexion anzukurbeln, Begegnungen zu ermöglichen und als Vorreiter für andere Gesellschaftsbereiche zu wirken.

Kultureinrichtungen fehlt meist nicht der Wille, sondern die Kompetenz, Menschen mit Behinderung als gleichberechtigte Kulturschaffende und Kulturnutzer:innen anzuerkennen und zu behandeln. Schließlich sitzen in den Entscheidungsgremien der darstellenden Künste fast ausschließlich Menschen ohne Behinderung. Hier setzen wir mit Access Maker an und unterstützen Kulturbetriebe praxisbezogen und individuell nach ihrem Bedarf dabei, ihr Angebot barrierearm – oder gar barrierefrei – zu gestalten und sich inklusiv zu öffnen. Dazu bieten wir drei parallel laufende Module an.

  • Im Modul 1 werden exemplarisch das Theater Dortmund, das Schauspielhaus Düsseldorf und das Comedia Theater Köln über drei Jahre bei ihren inklusiven Öffnungs- und Weiterentwicklungsprozessen von Kulturschaffenden mit und ohne Behinderung in inklusiven Tandem-Teams bedarfsspezifisch geschult und weitergebildet.
  • Im Modul 2, den Kreativ-Laboren, entwickeln wir innovative, barrierefreie Handlungsempfehlungen für Kulturbetriebe. Ausgewählte Expert:innen des inklusiven Kultursektors und Interessierte mit und ohne Behinderung stellen erfolgreiche Praxisbeispiele vor und entwickeln sie weiter. Die Ergebnisse, praktische Wegweiser und Informationsfilme, werden kostenfrei zugänglich gemacht und bundesweit verbreitet.
  • Im Modul 3 bauen wir unser nationales und internationales Netzwerk von Kulturschaffenden und Expert:innen aus, die in der Lage sind, Konzepte barrierefreier, innovativer Kulturangebote umzusetzen und somit die zukünftige inklusive Arbeit in der Kulturszene innovativ zu beeinflussen. Außerdem gibt es 2022 in Kooperation mit dem Asphalt Festival und kubia in Düsseldorf Symposium für den Austausch von Akteur:innen und Best Practises.

Mit Access Maker ermöglichen wir, inklusive Zugänge als Mehrwert für das gesamte Publikum und die gesamte Struktur eines Kulturbetriebes zu begreifen und zu nutzen. Langfristig wollen wir so zu einer Verstetigung barrierefreier Angebote sowie zu einer umfassenden, diversitätsorientierten Organisationsentwicklung beitragen, um die Kulturlandschaft strukturell und nachhaltig inklusiv zu verändern.

 

Video

Vimeo

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Vimeo.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Förderer und Sponsoren

Logo The Power of Arts